Hit and run is a serious offense in Wisconsin. It’s one of the clearest laws on the books when it comes to interpretation: If you get into an accident, you need to stay and exchange key information with the other person.
Leaving the scene knowing you’ve been involved in an accident without contact is considered hit and run.
Whether you’ve been charged with a hit and run in Wisconsin, are worried you may be charged with hit and run, or know someone else involved in a Wisconsin hit and run, we’ve compiled the things you need to know:
What am I supposed to do after an accident?
When you’ve been in an accident, the most important thing to do is remain as calm as possible and stay on the scene until you’ve exchanged four essential pieces of information with others involved:
- 1. Your full name
- 2. Your current address
- 3. The registration number of the vehicle involved
- 4. Your driver’s license number if it’s requested
If the other person involved in the accident has been injured or is unresponsive, you are bound by law to help them however you can. This includes calling emergency services or transporting them to a hospital if it’s necessary.
What happens if I leave the scene but come back?
You can still be charged with hit and run.
Call or contact an attorney as soon as possible no matter what
If you’ve been involved in an accident and already left the scene, stop, take a breath and contact an attorney who can help you immediately. He or she will listen to the details of the situation and give you clear guidance on the best next step.
Since every situation is different, there is no hard-and-fast advice on what you should do. Contacting an experienced attorney is your best option.
What are the penalties for hit and run in Wisconsin?
If you fail to remain at the scene, hit and run charges will depend on the extent of the accident.
If no one was injured in the accident, you will likely face a misdemeanor with $300 to $1000 in fines and up to six months in jail.
Injuries but no great bodily harm
If someone was injured but not severely enough to warrant great bodily harm, you’ll likely face a Class A misdemeanor with fines up to $10,000 and up to 9 months in jail.
Great bodily harm
If those injured in the accident suffered great bodily harm, you will most likely face a Class E felony. This carries a sentence of 15 years in prison and fines of up to $50,000.
If your accident resulted in a death, you will most likely face a Class D felony, which can bring fines of up to $100,000 and 25 years in prison.
If you’ve facing hit and run charges in Wisconsin or believe you may be in the future, click here for a free consultation with The Fitzgerald Law Firm. Our attorneys will be responsive to your needs, protect your rights throughout the process, and achieve for you the best possible result.
At The Fitzgerald Law Firm your initial consultation is always free and you will always meet directly with one of our attorneys. We understand that appointments during traditional working hours may not be convenient for all, and thus we strive to be available for evening, weekend, and off-site appointments. To schedule your FREE 15-minute attorney consultation, Contact Us now.